Posted in The Daily Post

Social Media Cleansing

Have you ever spent so much time on your computers or phones that your forgot to eat? Set aside an important task or procrastinate? Or even communicate personally with your loved ones?

I did. And I regret it.

Ever since I have my own family, social media plays an important role in my life. I get to have quick chitchats with my mom and sister. They also got to chance to see my little one whom they miss so badly.

Thanks to technology. Anything is possible with just a click of your fingertips.

But what makes me sad is the fact that I’m being too dependent with it. It seems that I can’t live without my phone. It is the first thing I pick when I wake up and last thing I check before I go to sleep. There was a time when I was so upset because my camera was disabled.

quote-carrie-p-snow-technology-is-a-queer-thing-it-brings-40619

I felt guilty sometimes that I don’t play too much with my son when we’re alone..it seems that I’m letting this precious moment slip away. This precious milestone of growing and learning with him. I became too lazy. See, there are plenty of jobs online which I could be doing instead of searching for cute and funny videos.

Social media cleansing.

This realization occurs to me this year. I deactivated one of my social media account for a couple of days and it brings me joy and productivity. To be honest, there are times when that kind of platform slaughter my self-esteem. Imagine a chubby mommy browsing  the net then sees a more beautiful and charming mom. Instead of being motivated, my mindset was drawn the other way.

quote-technology-is-not-in-itself-opposed-to-spirituality-and-to-religion-but-it-presents-a-great-thomas-merton-331138

Then again, I realize that my life don’t have to be depressing because of what the media feeds. It just a matter of mindset and attitude.  It is a matter of seeing a glass, half-full rather than half-empty. Optimism is a choice. It is choosing to see and use information that can be helpful to yourself and to humanity.

There are gems when technology is used properly. Just like reading and sharing inspirational and motivational stories. I realize that I can’t blame social media for my low-spirited soul. It is just a tool and the user makes it good or bad. Productive or lazy. Happy or sad.

-Khay ❤
I'm part of Post A Day 2016

Tempted : Today’s one-word prompt from The Daily Post

Author:

I’m weird and clumsy at the same time. Mother of two; one is my 1 year old son, the other one is my husband. Frustrated cook. Feeling masterchef in our small kitchen. Loves the stars, mountains, smell of books,3-in-1 coffees, original glazed doughnuts and Pikniks. 90's music and lipstick lover. Chubby since birth. Child at heart.

3 thoughts on “Social Media Cleansing

Leave a Reply

